top of page

Day 154 of Wonder


365 Days of Wonder

Two summers ago, late in the season I saw this guy, in the same orchard field, lying on his side. My first instinct had been concern, but he lifted his head in what could only be described as a drunken stupor. His mate was leaning against a tree with his head bowed. Further study of the area revealed swollen apples dotting the ground beneath each tree slowly rotting into the ground. I moved on chuckling to myself as I watched him drop his head unceremoniously back onto the ground.


Were they drunk? I can't say, but they really looked done in. It's early in the season and these guys are slowly working their way through this lush ground cover, looking healthy and lazy. I'm curious whether there will be a repeat performance from two years ago.

bottom of page